Dr. Kwame Nantambu

Stages of Colonialism

By Dr. Kwame Nantambu
September 20, 2011

"Age of Discovery"

Stage 1:

This period involved the conquest and plunder of the resources of the colonies by disparate European colonizers. Spain and Portugal were the two major European global powers in the 15th century.

In the 15th century, the Pope of Rome was the most powerful person on the planet.

Treaty of Tordesillas : On 7 June 1494, Pope Alexander VI solved the conflict between Spain and Portugal re ownership of lands discovered. Pope Alexander VI drew "an imaginary line of demarcation across the earth."

East = Portugal

West = Spain

Stage 2:

Age of European enslavement of Afrikan people/Industrial capitalism.

Industrial capitalism was built on the backs of Afrikan slaves. Industrial Revolution took place in Britain 1750-1850. All the manufacturing of raw materials, banking and Stock Exchange systems took place in Britain. Britain is the European country that benefited the most financially and economically from colonialism and slavery. Britain was the major European global power during this Stage.

Stage 3: "Age of Imperialism"

European colonial powers partitioned/scrambled/divided up Afrika among themselves at the Berlin Conference, November 1884 - February 1885.

Participants included: Britain, France, Portugal, Italy, Spain, Germany, Belgium and United States as a "most interested ex-officio observer."

Shem Hotep ("I go in peace").

Source: George Beckford and Michael Witter, " Small Garden... Bitter Struggle and Change in Jamaica" (1982), pp. 34-35.

Dr. Kwame Nantambu is a part-time lecturer at Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies.

Nantambu's Homepage / Trinicenter Home